Skip to main content
RISE logo

Board of directors and auditor

RISE Board of directors consists of eight elected directors, three ordinary employee representatives and two alternates.


Jan Wäreby (born 1956), Chair of the Board since January 2017, Chair of the Remuneration Committee, member of the Audit Committee. Previously Senior Vice President and Head of Group Function Sales at Ericsson, before which he served as Senior Vice President and Head of the Multimedia Business Unit, and Executive Vice President and Head of Sales and Marketing at Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications. Degree of Master of Science form Chalmers University of Technology. Director of Tobli AB.

Anna-Karin Stenberg (born 1956), director since 2015, Chair of the Audit Committee. Vice president head of corporate control, Telia Company AB. Previously CFO Praktikertjänst AB, CFO Vattenfall Nordic, Business Controller Atlas Copco, Business controller ABB, incl. in Corporate Research. Master of Business Administration specialising in international economics, Linköping University. Director of SP Sveriges Tekniska Forskningsinstitut AB, member of the nomination committee for Skandia’s Council of Delegates.

Fredrik Winberg (born 1949), director since 2015, member of the Audit Committee. Independent consultant. Previously CEO of Cementa, marketing director at Heidelberg Cement Northern Europe, cofounder of Biteam AB Stockholm and Oxeon AB in Borås. MBA. Chair of the Board of Byggmaterialindustrierna, director of SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden and alternate director of the Confederation of Swedish Enterprise. Member of the IVA Business Executives Council.

Hanna Lagercrantz (born 1970), director since April 2018, member of the Audit Committee. Investment director at the Government Offices of Sweden. Previously Corporate Finance at S.G. Warburg, UBS, Brunswick-Warburg 1994-1998. Share analyst and investor relations at SEB 1999-2008, Government Offices of Sweden since 2008. Other directorships include Almi Företagspartner AB and Swedfund International AB. Master of Business Administration from Stockholm School of Economics, Master of Philosophy in Economics, Cambridge University. 

Klas Bendrik (born 1969), director since April 2018, member of the Audit Committee. Vice President and Executive Partner, Gartner. Previous Senior Vice President and Group CIO Volvo Car Group AB, director of Volvo Cars, independent director of CAB AB since 2012. Previous positions include Mölnlycke Health Care, Accenture and ASSA ABLOY in the field of Innovation, IT and Digitalisation. Bachelor of Science from the Gothenburg School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg, and the Swedish Naval Academy (Reserve officer, Captain).

Sara Mazur (born 1966), director since 2018, member of the Remuneration Committee. Vice Chair of Wallenberg Artificial Intelligence, Autonomous Systems and Software Program (WASP). Previously Vice President and Head of Ericsson Research, Ericsson AB, and Vice President System Management and R&D Operations, Business Unit Networks, Ericsson AB. MSc in Electrical Engineering from KTH Royal Institute of Technology, PhD and Associate Professor in Fusion Plasma Physics at KTH. Honorary doctor at Luleå University of Technology. Director of Saab AB, Investor AB, Combient AB, Chalmers Tekniska Högskola AB, Nobel Media AB and member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences Division XI Education and Research Policy,

Sven Wird (born1951), director since 2015, member of the Remuneration Committee, S Wird Consulting AB. Previously Senior Vice President, Group Technology, Holmen AB. Master of Science Chemistry, Chalmers University of Technology. Director of Sveaskog AB, Melodea Ltd, and Nordiska Virkesbörsen AB.

Torbjörn Holmström (born 1955), director since 2017, member of the Remuneration Committee. Senior Advisor (R&D) to the CEO, Volvo Group. Previously Executive Vice President Volvo Group Trucks Technology and CTO, Volvo Group. Director of a number of Volvo companies, Deutz AG, Vice Chair of Chalmers University of Technology since 2013, member of the Volvo Research and Educational Foundation since 2017, The Association of Swedish Engineering Industries Production 2030 and RISE since 2017. Master of Science Mechanical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology.

Employee representatives, ordinary:

Ulf Nordberg

Linda Ikatti

Magnus Naesman

Employee representatives, alternates:

Johan Berglund

Jonas Söderberg


Pia Sandvik (born 1964), CEO, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden AB. Previously CEO of Länsförsäkringar Jämtland, President of the Luleå University of Technology. MSc in Mechanical Engineering from Linköping University, PhD and associate professor in Quality Control Technology. Director of the Swedish Entrepreneurship Forum and vice chair of the IVF Business Executives Council.



Chartered accountant Ingrid Hornberg Román, head auditor