Skip to main content
RISE logo

Board of directors and auditor

RISE Board of directors consists of eight elected directors, three ordinary employee representatives and two alternates.


Jan Wäreby (born 1956), Chair of the Board since January 2017, Chair of the Remuneration Committee, member of the Audit Committee. Previously Senior Vice President and Head of Group Function Sales at Ericsson, before which he served as Senior Vice President and Head of the Multimedia Business Unit, and Executive Vice President and Head of Sales and Marketing at Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications. Degree of Master of Science form Chalmers University of Technology. Board member of Exportkreditnämnden (EKN). Tobii AB, Kebni AB, Imsys AB, Defentry AB, Scandinavian Astor Technologies AB and Agapi Boating AB.

Anna-Karin Stenberg (born 1956), member of the board since 2015, Chair of the Audit Committee. Vice president head of corporate control, Telia Company AB. Previously CFO Praktikertjänst AB, CFO Vattenfall Nordic, Business Controller Atlas Copco, Business controller ABB, incl. in Corporate Research. Master of Business Administration specialising in international economics, Linköping University. Director of SP Sveriges Tekniska Forskningsinstitut AB, member of the nomination committee for Skandia’s Council of Delegates.

Fredrik Winberg (born 1949), member of the board since 2015. Independent consultant. Previously CEO of Cementa, marketing director at Heidelberg Cement Northern Europe, cofounder of Biteam AB Stockholm and Oxeon AB in Borås. MBA. Chair of the Board of Byggmaterialindustrierna, director of SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden and alternate director of the Confederation of Swedish Enterprise. Member of the IVA Business Executives Council.

Hanna Lagercrantz (born 1970), member of the board since April 2018, member of the Audit Committee. Investment director at the Government Offices of Sweden. Previously Corporate Finance at S.G. Warburg, UBS, Brunswick-Warburg 1994-1998. Share analyst and investor relations at SEB 1999-2008, Government Offices of Sweden since 2008. Other directorships include Almi Företagspartner AB and Swedfund International AB. Master of Business Administration from Stockholm School of Economics, Master of Philosophy in Economics, Cambridge University. 

Klas Bendrik (born 1969), member of the board since April 2018, member of the Audit Committee. Vice President and Executive Partner, Gartner. Previous Senior Vice President and Group CIO Volvo Car Group AB, director of Volvo Cars, independent director of CAB AB since 2012. Previous positions include Mölnlycke Health Care, Accenture and ASSA ABLOY in the field of Innovation, IT and Digitalisation. Bachelor of Science from the Gothenburg School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg, and the Swedish Naval Academy (Reserve officer, Captain).

Elena Fersman (born 1978), member of the board since April 2019. Research Director within Artificial Intelligence, Ericsson AB. Adjunct professor in cyber-physical systems, KTH. Master of Science in Engineering and Master of Science in Technology University of St. Petersburg. Technology Doctor in Computer Science Uppsala University and Associate Professor in Cyber Physical Systems KTH.

Sven Wird (born1951), member of the board since 2015, member of the Remuneration Committee, S Wird Consulting AB. Previously Senior Vice President, Group Technology, Holmen AB. Master of Science Chemistry, Chalmers University of Technology. Director of Sveaskog AB, Melodea Ltd, and Nordiska Virkesbörsen AB.

Torbjörn Holmström (born 1955), member of the board since 2017, member of the Remuneration Committee. Senior Advisor (R&D) to the CEO, Volvo Group. Previously Executive Vice President Volvo Group Trucks Technology and CTO, Volvo Group. Director of a number of Volvo companies, Deutz AG, Vice Chair of Chalmers University of Technology since 2013, member of the Volvo Research and Educational Foundation since 2017, The Association of Swedish Engineering Industries Production 2030 and RISE since 2017. Master of Science Mechanical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology.

Employee representatives, ordinary:

Linda Ikatti (born 1972), member of the board since 2017 (ordinary), previously an alternate since 2015. Test engineer in the field of building physics at RISE Built Environment, chair of the Unionen club at RISE. Engineering at the Sven Eriksson Upper Secondary School in Borås. Studied Chemistry at the University of Borås. Second vice chair of AB Bostäder Borås. 

Johan Berglund (born 1978), member of the board since 2018. Board member (alternate) of Swerea AB since 2017. Research scientist and project manager in the field of manufacturing technology at RISE IVF. Master of Science in Production Engineering from Luleå University of Technology. PhD in Manufacturing Engineering form Chalmers University of Technology. Member (alternate) of Swerea AB since 2017.

Ulf Nordberg (born 1959), member of the board since 2018 (ordinary), member of the Remuneration Committee, previously a board member of JTI Ab and SP AB (alternate) before transferring to RISE AB. Senior project manager within Agrifood and Bioscience, Bioeconomy and Health. Board member of SACO RISE. Master of Science in Civil Engineering in Built Environment from Luleå University of Technology.

Employee representatives, alternates:

Magnus Hillergren, (born 1974), Employee Representative, member of the Board since 2018. Research Engineer at RISE Bioeconomy and Health since 2000. Active in the local Unionen club.

Helena Björk, (born 1976), Employee Representative, member of the Board since 2021.  Project Manager in Measurement Technology at RISE. Graduate engineer; Product and Process Design from the University of Borås. Coordinator of the Geometry and Quality production cluster. Member of the Production Council in Production2030

Marie Sjölinder, (born 1965), Employee Representative, member of the Board since 2021. Senior Researcher and Project Manager at RISE Digital Systems. PhD in Psychology, Stockholm University.


Pia Sandvik (born 1964), CEO, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden AB. Former CEO at Länsförsäkringar Jämtland, President at Luleå University of Technology. MSc in Mechanical Engineering from Linköping University, PhD and associate professor in Quality Control Technology and a member of the IVA division XI Education and Research Policy. Board Chairman of KTH Royal Institute of Technology and board member of Almi Företagspartner AB and Prevas AB.


KPMG AB, Chartered accountant Ingrid Hornberg Román, head auditor